Curly Hair, Don’t Care


6f30fca5a8942f8b67851f334f9f0165

I’ve struggled with loving my hair for years, but I’m learning to love it. My hair as a child was and still is difficult to manage and doesn’t seem to grow fast enough. During elementary school, I would wish and pray that God give me white hair and make my hair grow faster (dead serious).

It took me a while to embrace the curly life, but I have. At times though, it gets frustrating  and makes me want to cry or chop it all off. Being black and having one hundred percent black hair is a benefit and a disadvantage. 

2012-08-29_18-54-59-1

My hair is very versatile and I can do many types of hairstyles. However, I have kinky curls that are hella thick, which are way harder to manage than Caucasian curls. Doing anything with my hair is struggle and takes a whole bunch of water, leave-in conditioner, and gel. De-tangling my hair is a trial in its own.

6b4072aa4e2daef69c7683ec1f509e2a

My go-to hairstyle is legit a bun. It’s easy and takes ten minutes max. With curly hair, my hairstyles tend to be more eccentric than the others girls. I love experimenting with new styles and my curly hair is the perfect place for it. My curls are a big part of who I am and I don’t think I would be who I am without them.

I love the end of the day sensation of taking my hair out of a bun or whatever and feeling the pressure release from my head. My curls are very thick and hate being restrained, but a girl’s got to do what a girl’s got to do.

136ca80a44c9e53a08f3aea88441a262

When I go to the doobie shop and get my hair straighten it’s weird, because I never know how to style my hair. I end up looking like a completely different person with straight hair! However, it’s interesting when I wash my hair after feel my curls come back. I love watching the curls bounce back to their origins.And I just completely love washing my hair, even with all the shrinkage.

No matter what I say or how much I complain, I love my curls to death and I can’t wait until they are longer enough to be a bomb afro.

Embracing the curls,

Queen JoJo ❤

24-curly-hair-black-art

12 thoughts on “Curly Hair, Don’t Care

Leave a Reply

